Sunday 31st August 2014 – Matt Bottrill takes the national 10 mile Time Trial Championship


On Sunday afternoon the UK’s finest time trialists took part in the men’s National 10 mile time trial championship, 150 riders facing the time keeper on what is known as the UK’s fastest 10 mile course at South Cave, near Hull,

It was going to be a highly contested race.  Michael Hutchinson, 10 times a winner at this distance and the former competition record holder (being beaten earlier this year by Alex Dowsett), would be racing alongside, Ryan Mullen (An Post Chain Reaction) and Sean Kelly, the Irish road and time trial National champion. And of course, Matt Bottrill (, already the National Champion at 25 & 50 miles, would be hoping to add the 10 to his string of titles.

The racing got underway at 2pm and early times indicated that it would be a great day for time trialling.  Edmund Bradbury (Cambridge University RT) was the first rider to show promise with 18:15.  It would take nearly 2hrs for this time to be beaten with Russell Hampton (Team Athlon Sport – Cloudnine Telecoms) posting 17:58.

The Battle that everybody had been anticipating started later that afternoon with Bottrill the first of the riders expected to be in contention for a podium place to take the stage. Soon into his stride, Bottrill blasted to the half-way point in 8:40, a full 8sec’s ahead of any other time set. Pushing all the way to line Bottrill crossed it in a very rapid 17:40, the 2nd fastest time ever on UK roads and a personal best by 45 seconds.  An amazing ride.

By the time Bottrill crossed the line, Mullen was in full flight and was just 1 sec off Bottrill’s pace and with 1 mile to go he was 3 secs up! However at the finish line he had dropped back finishing 2 seconds behind Bottrill’s time proving that Bottrill’s finish was a strong one.

There was now just one rider that could put an end to Bottrill’s dream of taking all three titles – Michael Hutchinson (In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT).  At the half way point Hutch, was 15 secs down.  Even with the strongest finish in the field he was not able to pull it back for a win and finished with a time of 17:53, third place.

It was a great day out for   Bottrill’s winning performance combined with the performances of Mark Jones (18:41) and Daniel Barnett (19:00), ensured that the team smashed the 10 mile competition record.

Drag2Zero-team-winners National 10 2014

Once Bottrill had composed himself we caught up him with at the finish”  “I’m totally made up with today’s ride” said Bottrill after the race.  “I trained so hard for this, pushing myself beyond the limits I thought I had. Three weeks of consistent interval training has been pretty tough but if I wanted the win I knew I had to push myself harder than ever. This was a really special ride, a Championship record, 2nd fastest 10 mile TT ever ridden and a course record to boot.”


1 Matthew Bottrill – 00:17:40
2 Ryan Mullen – An Post Chain Reaction Sean Kelly – Foreign (UCI registered) 00:17:42
3 Michael Hutchinson – In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT 00:17:53
4 Russell Hampton – Team Athlon Sport – Cloudnine Telecoms 00:17:58
5 Andy Jackson – Team Swift 00:18:02
6 Matt Clinton – Mike Vaughan Cycles 00:18:05
7 Edmund Bradbury – Cambridge University RT-Hunter Gibson-Chain Reaction Cycles 00:18:15
8 Brett Harwood – Terry Wright Cycles RC 00:18:29
9 David Crawley – Fibrax-Wrexham RC 00:18:29
10 Blake Pond – North Devon Wheelers 00:18:33


Photos courtesy of, Andy Jones